1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. John Clarke

John Clarke Registered Guest

Hello All!

First I would like to introduce myself. My name is John Clarke and I own a rag house in Garland Texas. We have been in business for over 15 years and currently sort and grade 2 million plus pounds a year of used clothing and shoes. When I first started my business I was one of those guys buying Levi's and military surplus to sell to Japanese store owners. As the years progressed we developed markets for not only jeans and military clothing but all aspect of used clothing and shoes. I have always been especially intrigued by vintage clothing. The quality of the garments produced in prior eras far exceeds today's garments. I am really into the 70s stuff since I graduated high school in 1976.

I have been using your website, especially the label resource page, to help identify and date items. Plus, I have collected over the years numerous books and old catalogs that I find helpful when training my employees on what to watch for when sorting the rags.

If I may I have a question that maybe one of you nice folks can help me with.

We play around with eBay a little and currently have some Frye boots listed that a question was asked of me that I do not have the answer for. The question was what is the difference between the black tag and the white tag in Frye Boots. I called Frye and they told me there was no difference. The customer service rep said when they are running production what ever color tag they have on hand is what they use. To me this just didn't sound right. She seemed to be in to much of a hurry to get me off the phone and go back on her coffee break.

Can anyone help me to clarify this tag dilemma?

Thanks in advance for everyones assistance.
    John

2. Hattysattic

Hattysattic VFG Secretary

Hello John, and welcome!