1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does this label look familiar to anyone?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Ashers, Jul 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Ashers

Ashers Registered Guest

My grandparents owned an antique store for many years and this was given to me. I'm not even sure what it is honestly. It looks like some sort of undergarment with a little flowered collar. There's a snap at the very top then regular buttons down the front. I think the sides are meant to be tied...

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  2. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

Its probably early 1900s but a photo of the garment would help.

Ashers likes this.
  3. Ashers

Ashers Registered Guest

Ok, I posted one. Sorry, I'm new to all this. ☺

And thank you for your help!

4. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

It looks to be a type of dickie or false front, worn under a lightweight spring or summer suit jacket. Maybe late 1940s to early 1950s, but I am not sure on an exact date.

Very pretty.

Ashers likes this.
  5. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

I was thinking more prewar - if the buttons are plastic, then its definitely postwar, if they are shell, its probably prewar. The term 'American design' makes me think its prewar too - perhaps something made off shore?

Ashers likes this.
  6. Ashers

Ashers Registered Guest

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

I Google imaged it and it's definitely a dickey however I didn't see any with tags. Also, very few (if any) had the colored embroidery around the collar.

Last edited: Jul 14, 2018
  7. Ashers

Ashers Registered Guest