1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peggy Ward label in 1920s(?) dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by gossamer, Nov 3, 2019.

1. gossamer

gossamer Registered Guest

I bought this dress on eBay for a 1920s themed party I went to yesterday. I've no experience with authentic 20s clothing, but having spent a lot of time looking at photos, it does seem to me like this is probably a true 20s dress.

No luck researching the label yet. I did take a crack at using nytimes archives, but ran into dead ends there too. How likely would it have been, do you think, for the Peggy Ward who became the Countess Munster and ran a successful decorating business in the early 20th century to have also had a clothing line?

[​IMG]

Photos taken of the dress inside-out before I washed it - I was so anxious about washing something so antique, but it cleaned up beautifully and only needed a few slight repairs to the seams before I could wear it last night.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Any thoughts?

2. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

3. Racked Vintage

Racked Vintage Alumni VFG Past President

Flappers were technically late 1920s - mid 30s. Looks that direction to me. Excellent dress! :wub:

gossamer likes this.
  4. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

I love the dress and it looks great on you.

Actually, just to clarify, Flappers came about in the very early 1920s, not late 1920s. I would have loved to have been one back in the day!

gossamer likes this.
  5. gossamer

Thanks! I'm shocked I actually managed to win the ebay auction on this AND that it didn't cost too much either!

I wasn't trying to go for flapper look at all, but more of a general 1920s theme for the event.