1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1960's Pierre Cardin Car Wash Dress Information

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by wrenapparel, Jun 5, 2020.

1. wrenapparel

wrenapparel Registered Guest

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here. I see many knowledgable people on here so I am hoping for some help with this wonderful dress I am getting ready to part with. From my research I believe it to be a 60's wool crepe car wash dress. I see other car wash dresses as having loops and not just straight fringe though. Is this still considered a car wash dress? Are there any other keywords that would be helpful? Any help would be greatly appreciated! IMG_9068.JPG IMG_9070.JPG

Attached Files:

Metro Retro Vintage likes this.
  2. northstarvintage

northstarvintage Administrator Staff Member

I hope some of our members with knowledge of 60s designers will pitch in. That is a cool piece!

I'm curious about the bar code - was this from a museum deaccession?

Thank you for sharing!

3. wrenapparel

Thank you! I don't know about the bar code. I have seen other garments have this from the dry cleaners but I really don't know. I thought about trying to peel it off but was afraid to harm the label.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2020
  4. lkranieri

lkranieri VFG Member

What a lovely dress. THIS Doyle auction was for a Pierre Cardin dress with self-fabric loops and they call it a car wash dress.

I would leave the bar code alone, as it is part of the history of the dress.

Metro Retro Vintage likes this.
  5. wrenapparel

Thank you, Lynne!

6. lkranieri

lkranieri VFG Member