1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice sought on earliest faux fur fabrics & dating faux fur bolero jackets

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Anna Evans, Apr 28, 2019.

1. Anna Evans

Anna Evans Registered Guest

Hello, I am new to the VFG forums. I have been collecting for around 25 years (since I was about 15) and I am currently selling most of my collection online. I have hit a wall with faux fur fabrics. There is a type of fabric that I am very familiar with from 20s/30s garments. It consists of a hessian type loose weave fabric with hairs attached. It looks a little like velvet. I read about the earliest faux fur being invented in 1929 and that it was made using alpaca hair. I am currently listing two garments made from this mystery fabric (hessian backing with individual hairs or fibres) I am wondering if this is the alpaca faux fur, or perhaps it's a precursor of the alpaca hair version that I do not yet know the correct name for. I would be extremely grateful for any further information on faux furs in the lp2.jpg lp1.jpg lp3.jpg black1.jpg black2.jpg black3.jpg black5.jpg 20s and 30s, and earlier, if applicable. Also, if anyone can nail the age of the two garments in question with greater accuracy, that would be wonderful! I am thinking 30s for the animal print bolero jacket and I am slightly thrown by the black bolero. It may be 30s but could be earlier. It seems to be cut for a large bust and it looks early in construction. Many thanks in advance & best wishes, Anna

Last edited: Apr 28, 2019
    wyogems likes this.
  2. Vinclothes

Vinclothes Alumni +

The black jacket may be made from cotton backed plush. The pile is longer/taller than velvet. From a distance it can look like a short fur.
    Marian

Anna Evans likes this.
  3. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President