1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are these jackets Mink? Or another type of fur?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Kambry Morrison, Dec 21, 2014.

1. Kambry Morrison

Kambry Morrison Registered Guest

Hello,

I recently came into a collection of some great true vintage fur coats. I am a novice to fur identification and am hoping for some help! I have attached photos of three jackets.

1.) A full length walnut colored fur with long pelts and seems to be similar to mink? However, the Guard hairs seem to be a bit longer than what I've seen of mink before, also the Guard hairs seem to be in concentrated rows rather than all over. I hope this description makes sense to you

2.) This is a vintage Revillon Fur. It's just adorable and seems to be a sheared fur of some sort. Guard hairs are still present but sporatic. The color is light blonde and the under fur is soft but not at all fluffy...

3.) This is a short coat of a greyed brown color and it is incredibly soft and fluffy. The pelts are long cut like a mink but there are no present guard hairs. The individual hairs are super soft and light and variegate in color.

Any help from all of you would be so much appreciated as I am learning all about this! MARTEN Coat Back.jpg MARTEN Coat label.jpg

Attached Files:

2. peaceful vintage

peaceful vintage Administrator VFG Past President

Hi, The first is Muskrat and the third is Russian Squirrel. I am not sure about the 2nd. I might need to see, touch, and examine it in person to identify because the guardhair and underfur is inconsistent throughout and I cannot make out any pelt definition.

3. Kambry Morrison

Kambry Morrison Registered Guest

Hi Caryn,

Thank you SOOOOO Much for your help. I have been reading these forums to learn and have seen your expert replies for others as well!