1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arnold Scaasi 2-pc set - Authentic?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by queen0ftheang3ls, Feb 24, 2009.

1. queen0ftheang3ls

queen0ftheang3ls Registered Guest

Hi everyone!
    {insert obligatory "New Member/First Post!" platitudes}
    Ok, I'm going to go ahead and jump right in, now that that's over with. ;)
    Recently, I picked up a 2 piece set (blouse, skirt w/tie belt) with an Arnold Scaasi label in. Thanks to this link, I can tell that it ought to be from the late 60s, maybe early 70s. However, I have some questions:
    First: The only label on the entire garment is in the bodice. Nothing on the skirt. Does that raise a question about authenticity?
    Second: I am by no means a Scaasi expert. But since I acquired this garment, I've been searching extensively to find anything that looks similar. A lot of the Scaasi pieces that come up on eBay, etc., are Scaasi Boutique pieces from the 80s - so obviously those will be of a different style. But I haven't found anything from the 60s or 70s that wasn't some kind of elaborate cocktail dress or ball gown - not too surprising, considering that was really Scaasi's forte. But, again - is that a red flag for authenticity?
    Here are some pictures to help clear things up:
    [img=182x375]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227124207_o.jpg[/img][img=157x375]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227122701_o.jpg[/img]
    [img=228x375]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227122853_o.jpg[/img][img=223x375]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227122785_o.jpg[/img]
    [img=243x324]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227122663_o.jpg[/img][img=175x233]http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/7/1/2/9/2/1/webimg/227122622_o.jpg[/img]
    I have more detail pictures, and much larger sizes, if it would help anyone.