1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating a vintage Hawaiian dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by DeLaBelle, Apr 7, 2011.

1. DeLaBelle

DeLaBelle Registered Guest

This is my first time posting here but I was hoping someone might help me with dating this dress.

I have an Hawaiian dress that I found that at first glance looks to be from the 1970s but it just feels much older. I found it in a thrift shop amongst some 1940s dresses that all looked to be around the same size. It could be the cool feel of rayon that is throwing me off but when I did a google search I found only 2 other vintage garments (mens shirts) with the exact same label and they were both dated 1950s-1960s. I'm not sure if you can tell by the pictures but there is some fading from age here and there throughout the print.

Here is a link to the pictures
    www.flickr.com/photos/delabelle
    (first 9 pictures)

What are your impressions?

Thanks so much for any help you could provide me!

2. joules

joules VFG Member

Welcome!
    It's a nice dress! My impression is 70s/80s. We have members with particular expertise in Hawaiian fashions, so let's see what they think.

3. I see 70's/80's as Julie does.

4. Linn

Linn Super Moderator Staff Member VFG Past President

I see '80's.

5. DeLaBelle

really? I wish you guys could feel the material, its the heavier cold rayon fabric. As well the only other hawaiian pieces I have found to reference with the same label are much older than 80s.

6. DeLaBelle

Oh I also wanted to mention the fact that it is marked a size large but the elastic waist is 20" - 29" when stretched to the absolute max, definitely not 80s sizing.

7. joules

joules VFG Member