1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating & Naming this very long outfit

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by billy, Oct 15, 2014.

?

Anybody know where this came from

1. Date

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Name of Garment

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. billy

billy Registered Guest

Hello all, this is my first post here. My name is Billy and I have been buying vintage clothing for the past 12 years. This is something I have never seen before, it's one piece and has that vintage smell, it ties by the waist area or a little above, the bottom end piece has elastic and seems like it would go under your legs up to your chest. I would like to know what it's called and maybe what era.

Thank You

Attached Files:

• 015.JPG
      015.JPG
      File size:
      59.8 KB
      Views:
    • 017.JPG
      017.JPG
      File size:
      58.1 KB
      Views:
    • 022.JPG
      022.JPG
      File size:
      73.2 KB
      Views:
  2. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

Got me... the workmanship looks Indian or Pakistani, but that garment is a new one on me...

3. I haven't seen anything like this either, and I agree with Jonathan that it doesn't look Western.

Can you please clarify what's going on with it? It looks like a very long short sleeved jacket, with an opening that joins near the bottom and then the hem is gathered up with elastic on one side? Is the bottom of the skirt folded up on the first pic, so if it was hanging down, the elasticated part would be on the front?

The only thing I can think of is some ceremonial robe for a baby, ala christening - so the child is held but the skirt hangs down, or a very specific costume for some performance

Can you tell us any more about it? eg, what fabric it's made of? Despite the mustiness, it doesn't look very old to me - '60s or '80s I'm thinking.

4. billy

billy Registered Guest