1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flaky (literally) Dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by DressUP, Aug 22, 2007.

1. DressUP

DressUP Registered Guest

One of my latest vintage finds is this adorable striped dress.
    [​IMG][/url][/img]

I think 60's, but what would you say?
    Now this dress fits perfectly and is very cute. There is just one problem...IT IS FULL OF LITTLE RED FLAKES:hysterical:
    Here they are... [​IMG]
    It appears to be the thread at the seams that is doing this.

[​IMG][/url][/img]

Here is the label:

[​IMG][/url][/img]

Does anyone have any ideas on this? Any ways to fix it? Has anyone encountered anything like this? I'm very much at a loss of what to do here. Any suggestions would be very appreciated!!!! Thank you!!!!

p.s. sorry about the image size. I'm very new to the whole photobucket thing.;)

2. Coutureallure

Coutureallure Alumni

It's called "Devil Dust" and I'm afraid your dress is a loss. See that foam backing on the fabric? It's breaking down and the red powder is from that. Please be very careful, as you don't want to inhale any of this stuff. I would wrap the dress up carefully and discard it. Others may have a different solution, but I alway treat this as a health hazard. It's too bad, cause that is a really cute 60's dress. It alway breaks my heart when I find an article of clothing with this problem. I've seen it in dresses, coats, and even the lining of boots.

3. DressUP

DressUP Registered Guest

This is making me wonder...how hazardous is it?:( I've tried it on a couple of times and I'm now wondering if I'm going to get some horrible disease. I always seem to find the most "UNIQUE" vintage :hysterical:

4. Coutureallure

Coutureallure Alumni