1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Can you date this old velvet jacket?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Sarah Hudgins, Jul 30, 2017.

1. Sarah Hudgins

Sarah Hudgins Registered Guest

Can anyone help me date this bolero jacket? Or come up with a name / style for it? It's really strange. I feel like it's definitely older...somewhere between 1920's-1940's. The batwing / dolman sleeves are really different. I've never seen anything quite like it. Pictures attached. This is my first time posting here. Thanks!
    DSCN3279.JPG DSCN3310.JPG DSCN3311.JPG DSCN3312.JPG DSCN3313.JPG DSCN3314.JPG DSCN3315.JPG DSCN3317.JPG DSCN3273.JPG DSCN3275.JPG

2. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

That is lovely. It looks to be from the early 1930s. Are you sure it is velvet? It looks like fur, similar to what used to be called "Hudson seal" but which was not really seal it was another less expensive fur.

You might call it a shrug style. Or simply a short Dolman sleeved jacket.

3. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President

I agree with Barbara, it looks more like a fur, can you get in underneath the lining, to see if you can see the skin of the fur. I am wondering if it isn't older than 20s and may be from the early teens.

4. peaceful vintage

peaceful vintage Administrator VFG Past President

I do think it looks like fur but not hudson seal. Is that an open French hem along the bottom Sarah? Take a look in there if so and if there is skin backing spread the fur side out for me if you can. Brush that fur flat for me so I can see if that fur has still has that wave and show me some well lit photos like you did when doing the close ups if you can. I know that happened because you were doing close ups.

Also can you push the fur or fibers against the grain? What does it feel like when you do that?