1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help dating little black dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by acceber, Mar 3, 2018.

1. acceber

acceber VFG Member

Another dress with no tags or labels. Might it have been hand made? It makes me think 1960s when I see it but I'm still a newb. The sleeves seem to sit on the edge of the shoulders, sort of. I think the bodice is some kind of wool, and the skirt a rustling material. Maybe taffeta. It has a metal zipper and pinked seams. Thank you for your help!

IMG_8657.JPG IMG_8658.JPG IMG_8659.JPG IMG_8660.JPG IMG_8661.JPG IMG_8664.JPG IMG_8665.JPG IMG_8666.JPG IMG_8667.JPG IMG_8663.JPG

2. Pinkcoke

Pinkcoke Alumni

Probably home made from a commercial sewing pattern. The neckline is called a bateau neckline - it is seen on mid 1950s to early 1960's tops and dresses. If you keep looking you may be able to find the pattern it was made from online and the date the pattern was issued on the Pattern Wiki
    [​IMG]

3. claireshaeffer

claireshaeffer VFG Member

Melanie, since the dress has pinking, you can look at a long seam and tell whether it was pinked by hand or machine.

When pinked by hand, you can see when the shears were opened to pink the next section. It's rarely a smooth line.

Pinking by machine was done by 2 diff. machines. One was a sew-pink machine which pinked the edges immediately after the seam was stitched and the garment was still under the presser foot.
    The other was a pinking machine which only pinked.

If this dress were pinked by machine, it was the latter because the two edges are pinked differently.