1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help ID unsigned Brooches

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Chatter - Anything and everything' started by VintagePassion, May 27, 2018.

1. VintagePassion

VintagePassion Registered Guest

Hello,
    I have a few very beautifully made brooches- I'm just learning about how to identify the time periods of when something came out along with the makers. But I have three that I am stumped on and was hoping maybe someone could enlighten me about any of them. The first one the pin is past the catch and the brooch itself. The other end of the pin you can see is wrapped a couple times with a rod/pin/? to hold in place. < I just can't find information regarding that style> It has a high domed Carnelian Cabochon in the middle and a variety of crystals/rhinestones? I don't know enough about the different stones yet, but can Carnelian also come in green?
    The second one <my personal favorite> it a "Starburst/flower all in deep purple-with small clear rhinestones. gold tone.
    The third one; is done on copper; flower with three different colors and a faux pearl in middle.

100_9303.JPG 100_9304.JPG 100_9305.JPG 1.JPG 2.JPG 100_9322.JPG 100_9304.JPG 2.JPG 100_9324.JPG

Hopefully the pictures will be detailed enough for some answers or information.

2. Metro Retro Vintage

Metro Retro Vintage VFG Member

Hello Vintage Passion -- Nice lot of brooches.

These are simply factory made "findings", and consist of three parts -- the hinge, the pin stem, and the catch, which happens to be a safety catch. The coil or wrapping that you're seeing provides the needed tension so that the stem is 'springy'.