1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with a Astraka Black Coat

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Emma Boo, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Emma Boo

Emma Boo Registered Guest

Hi Im new to this forum and im new at collecting but im also trying to reduce my collection, i went a bit mad at first :) so i will be listing a few items, my major fear is listing an item incorrectly.

One jacket im stuck on, i think is a late 50's maybe early 60's jacket that could be faux perisan lamb, i think i can see weave between the curls but im not sure, its so heavy and there isnt any gaps between the lining to check.

The lable reads Astraleen and one lable saying an astraka model, fashioned by master furriers.

The other question a have is does everybody clean the items before they sell them or is it better to leave as is, i havent cleaned most of the items ive collected as im unsure how to or i wasnt going to wear them no there wasnt any rush, whats best practise ?

Thank you x

Attached Files:

2. Linn

Linn Super Moderator Staff Member VFG Past President

Hi Emma -

Happy to see you posting here on the Forum. I did a quick "google" search for Astraleen and found that it is an expired trademark for a company in the UK for imitation fur products made by the parent company Astraka Ltd. You can get more information here:

http://www.trademarkuk.info/tm/717797/astraleen

As far as cleaning items goes, I think that varies a great deal, depending on the item - and whether you have a cleaner you can trust. I think the jacket is from the '50's.

3. Emma Boo

Thank you so much Linn :)

That confirms what i thought too as im based in the UK and found the item here, i knew it was faux but i kept on second guessing myself.