1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Liberty & Co Historic Costume Studio gown

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Show and Tell - Share your treasures' started by VintageMelinda, Mar 3, 2011.

1. VintageMelinda

VintageMelinda Registered Guest

Hello! I am new here, but I have been collecting vintage for over 20 years. I love Liberty & Co. (my wedding dress was a 1912 Liberty gown), and I am the proud new owner of an 1896 Liberty & Co. Historic Costume Studio gown! I am so excited!! Everything I've read suggests that Historic Costume Studio pieces are quite rare, and usually in museums. What are your thoughts? I'd love to learn more about this gown and Liberty's Historic Costume Studio!

Thanks!
    Melinda

2. fuzzylizzie

fuzzylizzie Alumni

I'd love to see the label.

3. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

Hi,

The dresses of the Artistic Dress and Aesthetic Dress movements are so beautiful, and are also one of my favorite era of fashion. I thank you so much for sharing.

And I will also ask....could we see the label?

Barbara

4. VintageMelinda

Liberty label

Here it is! The lining is shattering, so the label is partial, but still readable:

Liberty & Co
    Historic Costume Studio
    222 Regent St

5. VintageMelinda

Sorry, pic was too big. Posting smaller size now. :)

(It is easier to read in real life...hard to take a clear pic!)

6. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

Stylistically the dress doesn't look costumey to me but is that label referring to a department at Liberty and Co. that made up costumes for fancy dress and the stage?

7. VintageMelinda