1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with vintage dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by TaraIndia, Jul 23, 2017.

1. TaraIndia

TaraIndia Registered Guest

Hi all,

I bought this dress on the weekend from a vintage clothing store but I am new to vintage fashion (although I do want to become more knowledgeable!) and unsure of era/origin and brand which I can't make out...Jason G, Tason G, Taron G? Does anyone recognise it? I'm thinking late 60s or early 70s (?) and maybe modified but am unsure.
    TIA

20170723_235834.jpg 20170723_234550.jpg 20170723_233548.jpg

2. TaraIndia

Thought I would also include the zip with the letters 'TYC' and the neck detail. 20170724_003321.jpg 20170724_003052.jpg

3. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President

It looks like it might say LaJong

It looks 60s to me or very early 70s, also looks like it was shortened by the way the hemline is, so may have been a maxi dress to begin with.

TaraIndia and StitchesandSnags like this.
  4. StitchesandSnags

StitchesandSnags Registered Guest

I agree with both points.

TaraIndia likes this.
  5. Does it have a care label? Check the side seams of the skirt portion.

I'm going to suggest the possibility of it being a new-ish item. I see quite a bit of garments like this in my local thrifts (I live in a large metropolitan area): nice quality asian repros of vintage American styles. I've been nearly fooled by it. The label and zipper pull are making me think this might be a repro... especially since there's absolutely nothing on the internet about either.
    Either way, it's really cute! :)

6. Retro Ruth

Retro Ruth VFG Member Staff Member

Got to admit, this struck me as a modern dress. I'd like to see the seams.

7. StitchesandSnags

So it seams...

TaraIndia likes this.
  8. Midge