1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shoulder pads in the 1960s or 70s?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by KellyL, Jul 7, 2015.

1. KellyL

KellyL Registered Guest

I'm very new to vintage fashion so sorry if a lot of the things I say sound very wrong :P

I have a tons vintage dresses that I found while thrifting and for the most part I think they're from the 80s (because of the huge shoulder pads) but some of the dresses I'm un-sure of, such as I have a dress with super thin shoulder pads and another dress with thicker-but-still thin pads and from my understanding the 80s had mostly large shoulder pads and there are only few dresses with pads in the 70s? I think the dresses might be from the late 60s or 70s, since the shape of the dresses are a little straighter but I probably have no idea what I am talking about! Can anyone help me with a little history on shoulder pads and help me with dating them? Thanks super much!

IMG_5400.JPG IMG_5401.JPG IMG_5397.JPG IMG_5399.JPG The red one has a plastic zipper on the middle of the back

2. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member

Hi, Kelly and welcome!

i don't want to disappoint you, but while both of your dresses are cute, they both look like 90s (or possibly even younger) to me...not 60s or 70s.

KellyL likes this.
  3. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President

I agree with Mary above. The black one might be 80s and the red one looks newer to me as well as in 90s. Neither are 60s or 70s.

KellyL likes this.
  4. KellyL

KellyL Registered Guest