1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

snakeskin or...?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by AstridC, Mar 14, 2009.

1. AstridC

AstridC Registered Guest

Hi everybody,

I am not very good with exotic learhers and I was wondering if you kould help? Is this snakeskin or embossed leather?

the bag is very high quality by german manufacturer goldpfeil.

thanks a lot in advance![​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. MyVintageCocktail

MyVintageCocktail VFG Member

It's hard to tell from a photo, but this looks emobossed to me. If real, you might see some scale edges lifting a bit, and there seems to be too much "space" between the scales on your close-up. And, from what I can tell the pattern looks too symmetrical to be genuine snakeskin. Honestly, though, feeling the bag is usually the only & best way I've found to tell for sure on snakeskin. Run your hands both ways across the surface; you usually can feel a grain or at least some roughness. Embossed will feel smooth (except for the bumps of course).

It is a very lovely bag, though, genuine skin or not!

3. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member

i love little bags like that, and i agree, looks embossed.

cute as can be!

4. BagDiva

BagDiva Guest

if its golden python which I think it is....check with your finger nail whether there is any 'give' in the cells. If not it may be sealed with a patent veneer. and still be real..it looks real form here.

5. MyVintageCocktail

MyVintageCocktail VFG Member