1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suede Long Coat

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Show and Tell - Share your treasures' started by Macie Hatch, Mar 29, 2016.

1. Macie Hatch

Macie Hatch Registered Guest

Hello all, I am new to this sight it was recommended to me. I hope I am posting in the correct area. I have had this long Suede/Fur coat since my grandmother past away a little over 15 years ago. I would like to learn a little more about it? Possibly sell it or donate it? Any help I can get would be appreciated. It may not really be anything other than a suede coat.... I have attached some pictures that I have taken. Thank you. Macie

Attached Files:

2. jazzbug

jazzbug Alumni

Hi Macie,

I love a good mystery!
    :hiya:

For a start, the label graphics look like it's from the 1930s-40s. Does the label read Irida, or Rida? Hard to see in the photo. Can you see any portion of what is written under the black ink marks, in person? Do you know what year your Grandmother got married, as there is a bride and groom image on the label, she may have acquired it for her wedding trip. Do you know what her high school or college mascot was (referring to the "cat" on the label)?

Is the fur lining and collar shearling? Faux or real? Have you checked out the Fur Resource on this website (located at the homepage, top left drop-down menu.

Another clue would be the measurement of the bust (with the coat buttoned properly). The size number 12 changed through the decades, so that would help date it.

What else did you want to find out?

It's a nice coat! Do you wear it?

Macie Hatch likes this.
  3. Macie Hatch

Hi Laurie aka. Jazzbug :)

Thank you for your response!