1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tiffany silver mesh bag

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by bycin, Jan 22, 2011.

1. bycin

bycin Guest

Does anyone know of a place to get Tiffany pieces authenticated...or a site that would help with hallmark and stamps for them? I have a mesh purse in need of research : )

Thanks, as always.

ps - I'll post a pic when my batteries charge and, yes, this is yet another item my mom purchased at a yard sale.

2. bycin

bycin Guest

picture

Here's a picture

3. bycin

bycin Guest

more picture

4. bycin

bycin Guest

more

5. pinky-a-gogo

pinky-a-gogo VFG Member VFG Past President

6. donnah

donnah Registered Guest

I AM NOT AN EXPERT but frankly, I can't imagine that being a fake. It's just gorgeous!

7. jauntyrooster

jauntyrooster Alumni

Love that purse.

8. bycin

bycin Guest

Pinky, thanks! I'm looking now.

Don't think it's a fake at all, just kind of curious the year. Also curious as to why one Tiffany bag I saw - only diff was it had a store name etched into the side bar - was worth $850 while many mesh bags are in the $80-125 range. Is Tiffany the magic word, d' you think?

9. cmpollack

cmpollack VFG Member

The Online Encyclopedia of Silver Marks has a page on Tiffany Dates, and a recommendation for a book that has more info.

Don't know much about mesh purse pricing--except that some are sterling and some aren't. Perhaps that explains part of th e discrepancy (with the collectibility of the Tiffany name explaining the rest of it?)

10. bycin

bycin Guest

Yes, I saw that page. It's more helpful for flatware than the bags. I'll keep looking and if y'all have more info, I'd love it. VERY helpful!

11. joules

joules VFG Member