1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trousers for Women -- how early??? WW1 (Costuming for a Play I am writing)

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Chatter - Anything and everything' started by Elizabeth Hayden, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Elizabeth Hayden

Elizabeth Hayden Registered Guest

I am a creative writing student taking play writing this semester. I have a play set in 1919. I am wondering if it would be at all plausible for a college girl to wear trousers (Only briefly traveling on the train to her home.) I have no idea who to reach out to with this question. Thank you if you are able to respond.

2. Robin of Frocksley

Robin of Frocksley Registered Guest

Hi! I am not an expert, and hopefully more knowledgeable folks will chime in!

From the wikipedia entry about women and trousers:

"In 1919, Luisa Capetillo challenged the mainstream society by becoming the first woman in Puerto Rico to wear trousers in public. Capetillo was sent to jail for what was then considered to be a "crime", but the judge later dropped the charges against her.

Women increasingly wore trousers as leisurewear in the 1920s and 30s. In the early 20th century female pilots and other working women often wore trousers."

This suggests to me that trousers would have been a very fashion-forward choice for a woman in 1919.

Hope you hear from the experts soon, great question!

amandainvermont likes this.
  3. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

Women often wore jodhpurs for riding by 1919, and pyjamas for at home use, but slacks like the kind you might think of Marlene Dietrich or Katherine Hepburn wearing are too early for 1919. They are not something that was being made for the market, so Luisa Capetillo was probably wearing men's trousers for which she could be arrested in 1919, like a man could be arrested for wearing a dress at the same time.

4. Rachel Stinson

Rachel Stinson Registered Guest