1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vintage leopard skin laws in Canada

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Chrissy, Mar 13, 2008.

1. Chrissy

Chrissy Registered Guest

I am new to this and I started because I own a couple of items made of vintage leopard skin I think from the 1950's. They are as follows; pillbox hat, muff/purse and a belt. I have no need for them and they are in very excellent condition except for the belt. I don't know if it is illegal to sell such items in Canada. Please will someone fill me in? I hate to see the lovely items sitting around slowly deteriorating and I am hoping to find someone who will really appreciate the beauty. I am so sad that such a magnificent animal died for this but it is doubly bad that the items are going to waste.
    Chrissy

2. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President

Hi Chrissy,

I believe if you can sell this privately and have it remain in Canada, you can do so. You definitely cannot sell it and send it across any borders.

I certainly would not want anymore of these animals killed for their fur either but it is a bit of a dilemma with what to do with those that remain.

3. Chrissy

Chrissy Registered Guest

Thank you Mary Jane,
    Now I need to find someone who wants these things in Canada.
    Chrissy

4. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member

And you really can't list on eBay. This is one of the few listing violations that they usually respond to. If anyone reports your listing, it will be pulled for endangered species. And there are activists who troll listings looking for these kinds of listing to report.

5. Chrissy

Chrissy Registered Guest

What about Craig's List?

6. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member