1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vintage Swissair hankies - great graphics

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Show and Tell - Share your treasures' started by Midge, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

My best friend in Vienna gives me the most incredible vintage presents some time. This is the latest, which I got when visiting her over new year's - 3 vintage Swissair hankies.
    The story behind them was that a good friend of hers bought some vintage jewelery online, and it came wrapped in these. Since they were moving abroad at the end of the year, they had to empty their apartment. She came across these again and wanted to throw them away, but my friend saw the logo and thought I might appreciate them. She likes the prints and knew I'd like them too, but I work in the travel industry and am a bit of an aircraft/airline nerd (being the daughter of an aircraft fan and having who work friends in the airline industry helps too of course!).

[​IMG]
    South American flavour...

[​IMG]
    Maybe Spanish?

[​IMG]
    English, of course!

This actually reminded me of a discussion we had here some time ago about another Swissair hankie:
    http://forums.vintagefashionguild.o...nature-or-know-this-series.34740/#post-334583

Sadly, these here have no artist's signatures. But they are to me still in keeping with the kind of graphics that Swissair also used in advertisements in the time from the 50s to 70s. I am guessing that these hankies are from that time too.