1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Washing/cleaning silk

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by jollygoodvintage, Feb 6, 2014.

1. jollygoodvintage

jollygoodvintage Registered Guest

Hi,
    I am not an expert in this field by any means...please could anyone advise me on the best way to clean this dress for my daughter's wedding?
    I believe it to be 1920s silk. I was advised by the lady we bought it from to wash it very gently, however I seem to be getting conflicting advice. I have been advised not to wash, but to dry clean...likewise I've been advised not to dry clean because of the damage done by chemicals!
    The dress is in good condition and the fabric seems to be strong. I was considering washing it in lukewarm water with soap flakes then rolling it in towels.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated as my daughter's wedding is in May and I am really scared of ruining it! HELP!

Attached Files:

2. Retro Ruth

Retro Ruth VFG Member Staff Member

I think that's more 30s that 20s, and I believe it's a nightdress, not a wedding or evening dress.

I've heard people say they usually wash vintage nightdresses and lingerie, because the nature of the garment means it must have been intended for regular washing, and so should be able to take it. However, if it's rayon rather than silk, it may be more vulnerable to getting wet. Have you ever tried burn-testing, to establish what fabric it is?

If it were mine I would risk washing it, gently as you say with gentle soap and then rolling in towels.