1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When did Canda (C&A) start?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Moonchild, Jul 14, 2021.

1. Moonchild

Moonchild Registered Guest

I often receive quite a few pieces with the collection Canda from the brand C&A. I was wondering when Canda started? I'm still learning to research labels etc. so I'm sorry if this has an obvious answer! I haven't been able to find it myself.

I hope you can let me know.

I would include a picture of the label, but they have such different labels that I'm not sure it's helpful. But let me know if you need it!

2. NylonNostalgia

NylonNostalgia VFG Member

Founded in (believe it or not) 1841 by two brothers, Clemens and August - hence 'C&A'. Very sad day the day they closed all the UK stores, but I still see them in Germany when I go over there.

3. Moonchild

Yes, C&A was founded waaay back! Pretty cool. But they have a few different lines that are still active today (like Canda) and I can't figure out when it began, to put a ca. age to my items when selling

Distantdetails likes this.
  4. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

We still have C&A here in Switzerland too - there's one just a couple of blocks from where I live. I've never shopped there much though, so I can't advise on the label styles per se. Back when I did shop cheap and new starting in the 90s, H&M was cool but C&A to me was untrendy, "mom style" :hysterical:(and then Zara and Mango came... :rolleyes:). I do think though the Canda "brand" was already around then.
    Anyway, if you post photos of the clothes and the labels, we can help with dating, based on styles and whatever info the labels have. Going by where the clothes were made according to the label can also help. Made in China for example is something that really only came up in the last 20 years or so.

Distantdetails likes this.
  5. Moonchild