1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Year for this 21 club scarf?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by prettyold, Aug 2, 2013.

1. prettyold

prettyold Registered Guest

Hi all,

I found this 21 club scarf at an estate sale yesterday and I'm trying to nail down in which year it was made. I'm just learning about the history of these scarves and have a guess that it's from either the late 60s or early 70s -- it's numbered XVI and the best I've been able to find so far is that they began giving them as gifts to their regulars sometime in the 50s. I've also found literally nothing on the Keyheart Scarfs company referenced on the tag.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Lauren

21clubscarf_whole.jpg 21clubscarf_design.jpg 21clubscarf_detail.jpg 21clubscarf_tag.jpg

2. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

What is the 21 club?

3. pinky-a-gogo

pinky-a-gogo VFG Member VFG Past President

It's a restaurant/bar in NYC on 52nd st, that has all those jockey statues outside of it.

4. sewingmachinegirl

sewingmachinegirl VFG Member

yeah- I was wondering what the 21 club was too , thanks Tiffany !

5. prettyold

Sorry! Yes, it's a restaurant that has been around since the early 1920s and it was a speakeasy during prohibition. It's one of those restaurants where celebrities have regular tables and US presidents go there to eat. They started this custom of giving scarves to their regulars at Christmas time each year -- they were never for sale, so they're apparently coveted by collectors.

6. sewingmachinegirl

Wow- that restaurant sounds neat !

7. lkranieri

lkranieri VFG Member