1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zandra Rhodes help, please?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Jannetje, Apr 4, 2004.

1. Jannetje

Jannetje Registered Guest

Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I have a Zandra Rhodes from (I'm guessing) the early '70s, but have no idea what to ask in an auction or sale. We had it up on ebay with a high high high reserve since we were unable to research it beforehand. Does anyone have an idea what its worth is? I inherited it from a cousin in the 70s, which is when we both wore it. I'd still wear it if I hadn't gotten too short for my weight! The pics aren't the greatest, light was too low but too much light with the flash. Thanks, Janice

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. ellenm

ellenm Registered Guest

Hi Janice and welcome. That dress is a beauty. I'll be waiting to see what the experts have to say too.

3. pastperfect2

pastperfect2 Alumni +

That is a nifty dress. While her work is very respected, and there have been museum retrospectives, Rhodes' work is I think less common then some designers who are bringing big prices. And her appeal is very specific. People love her stuff, or are completely ambivalent. And as trends go, she doesn't seem to be"hot' right now. Not that that's an insult - Bonnie Cashin is not bringing great prices and every one says she was a genius. This also isn't a look that is in right now for wearing.

So I did a search of current an recent ebay auctions, and the prices for good dresses seem to be in the $150 -$ 200 range.

So you could go for that price, or you could hold this great dress until either current fashion is more in line with Rhodes aesthetic, or until there is a big retrospective or book coming out that would boost interest.