Any shoe experts out there? Need era.

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by bluevelvetvintage, May 5, 2004.

1. bluevelvetvintage

bluevelvetvintage VFG Member

Found these funky burgundy red shoes and I'm wondering what era they're from. Insoles are missing and inside of shoe says "split leather lining, vinyl sock"(whatever that means!).I'm not too good with shoe terms! I kind of like them, though, and they fit me. Thought they might make cool dancin' shoes!

TheresaBlue Velvet Vintage

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. latebloomers

latebloomers Registered Guest

Do we have shoe experts?!! Why yes, yes we do!

Sadly I am not one of them, lol.

I will however venture a guess of early 40's, but I am probably way wrong.

Jonathan, our resident shoe guru, should be around shortly.

3. bartondoll

bartondoll Guest

I was going to say 40s too, but the vinyl sock doesn't sound right for that era....alas, like Timber, I am
    shoe challenged. Jonathan will surely see this posting and
    will be able to give you the day and month they were made.

Sue

4. artisannes

artisannes VFG Member VFG Past President

There is something about the stitching on the sole that makes me think they are later than 40's - but Jonathan will know cos he knows his shoes.

5. theopshoproc

theopshoproc VFG Member

I know I had a pair of shoes with that sort of sole... oh my brain is at a loss.

I have a feeling these were matronly style shoes and might be alot later than 40's and made for the much older woman. I want to say 60's. Jonathan is like a shoe God so let him weigh in to be sure - but I like to test myself before he does by guessing. hehehe!

I think they're fabulous - that cherry red is awesome!

6. pastperfect2

pastperfect2 Alumni +

I will chime in with an older style remniscnent of the 40s, but made in the late 50s or early 60s -

Hollis

7. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member