Cleaning boater hat lining help!

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Dilly Day, May 31, 2024.

1. Dilly Day

Dilly Day Registered Guest

Would anyone have any tips on cleaning the lining of a vintage boater please?
    It is quite stained from what I assume must be a mix of hair products and natural grease. Looking on line I could only find instructions for cleaning removable linings but mine is fixed. I'm concerned about damaging the straw if it gets wet. The leather band inside is also rather grubby.
    Any input would be much appreciated.
    20240531_125157.jpg 20240531_125418.jpg 20240531_125334.jpg

poppysvintageclothing likes this.
  2. plousia

plousia Registered Guest

Please take this with the caveat that I am not an expert and hopefully people who have more experience/knowledge will weigh in, but I would use a good leather cleaner/conditioner on the leather band, and I'd try a paste of baking soda and hydrogen peroxide on the rest of it. Maybe start with the baking soda paste first, then wipe/brush it off after leaving it for a while, then use the leather conditioner as baking soda might dry the leather out if any gets on it (I wouldn't deliberately put it on the leather). Again, caveat, this is just what I'd try if it were my hat, not saying that this is the best or right way.

3. dollsntrolls

dollsntrolls VFG Member