Help dating hat pins please

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Arabella's Treasures, Aug 12, 2015.

1. Arabella's Treasures

Arabella's Treasures Registered Guest

I know nothing about how to date hat pins, well I don't think I do ;)

Please could someone help me date some of these pins.

Attached Files:

2. Pinkcoke

Pinkcoke Alumni

From what I've gathered (I have no innate knowledge of hat pins as such!) the huge fantastical ones, such as the clear polkadot plastic twist, sequinned teardrop, and giant pearl bauble, tend to be from the 1960s. I don't know what started it, but it seems to have been their swansong to go out in style!
    The little 'sliced' horizontal cylinders I have always seen described as 50s ish.
    The carved cones I would have said 30s-40s.
    The extra long stems tend to be older, say late 19thC to early 20thC because the hairstyles were quite voluminous at this time and you needed a longer pin to go through it all as well as the hat. The older ones also tend to be glass, which I think your white funnel shaped one might be.
    The thistle shaped pin, although they have been made for a number of years, are one of the styles still sold today. I think the long darker metal one is much older, the short silver could have some age (not as much as the other) or be relatively new.
    I'm intrigued to hear what others think about the silver metal ball with cast leaf pattern - it looks a bit older to me but I can't place that.

I think the short gold pin is a gentleman's stick pin rather than a hat pin.