Need help dating antique sunglasses plz

zannew

Registered Guest
I do not know much about vintage eyeglasses. I have tried to find information on-line pertaining to these glasses but have not had much luck. On the back of the nose piece is the word "Todd". The lenses are glass and the frame is metal - pretty sturdy. Any information you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

DSC_07963.jpg

DSC_0791.jpg

DSC_0792.jpg

Hmm, I'm no expert but I have handled a few pairs of older glasses. I'm not quite seeing antique. How big are they? Any I've had that were pre World War I were tiny tiny tiny.

That double bridge is unusual. I'm pretty sure I had a pair with that, which were tinted glasses with side wings, ie safety or driving glasses, but I can't find my pic to check. Mine looked 1930s in style but turned out to be later, 1950s/60s. However the plastic on the sides of yours looks older than that.

I would guess 1920-1940s, but hopefully someone else will weigh in.

They are great!

My first impression was 1930's too...and I actually have a very old fashioned optician's that has loads of original lenses that look like these!

Yes, I think they're '20s or '30s too.

I can't quite read the words on the bridge, but googling that word (assuming you can read it) might help. It also looks like the lenses have a logo or some such too.

I did a google search for 'antique round glasses' and found a person who owns almost the same exact pair, except her lenses are clear and the frame is stamped wilson. She claims the glasses are 1900-1920 (of course she could be estimating) and military issued.

Perhaps Todd is the original owners last name?

It looks like many of the military glasses had the same double bridge and originally had leather covering the bridge and sides. People are tagging them as WWII motorcycle goggles.

Perhaps yours originally had leather?