Need help dating this cocktail dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by East Villager, Aug 17, 2024.

1. East Villager

East Villager Registered Guest

I bought this dress in NYC in the 1980s. It has no labels at all. The only telling thing is a TABIT metal zipper up the back. The cutwork flowers appear to be hand-stitched as they are so delicately attached to one another to create a beautiful balanced pattern. I thought this might be a 1950s sheath/wiggle cocktail dress because of the nipped waist and the pencil skirt, but I am no expert. The material of the skirt seems to be a poly blend? Guessing the flowers are cotton/linen. The lining on the top is ivory and under the skirt it is black. The flowers are not fully attached to the bosom, or the back where they dip into a V. My questions:
    1. What period is this dress from?
    2. Any info about the cutwork floral lace that is both black and ivory. Is this unusual? What material are the flowers do you think? Is it hand-stitched?
    3. Is this a wiggle sheath dress?
    4. What is the time period of the Tabit metal zipper?
    5. Any ideas as to the designer?
    Any other info would help me greatly.
    tempImageCgpBcq.png tempImager2oRhv.png tempImage9KSXGC.png tempImageZ2fIIy.png

tempImage7y1NsA.png tempImageR0uO2n.png

2. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Member Staff Member VFG Past President

I am seeing 1960s with this dress - pre 1965. Let's see what others think.

3. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

The lace does not appear to be cutwork, they look like pre-made lace appliques which were then sewn to the bodice. Or it could be Guipure lace which can be sold by yard and they are not individual appliques. It is not a sheath, as it has a waist seam, and it does not quite (to me) look narrow enough in the skirt to be called a wiggle dress.

But is is very pretty!

4. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member