1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1960s on this little aqua satin mini dress?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by laurenm, Mar 27, 2017.

1. laurenm

laurenm Registered Guest

I feel uncertain on this one.....I'm thinking 60s but wonder if it's way later?
    Thanks in advance.
    Lauren

Attached Files:

2. Robin of Frocksley

Robin of Frocksley Registered Guest

Cute dress!

I'm no expert, but this looks 90's to me, though I can see why you thought 60's with the length. Are there any labels? I see 90's because of the slip styling, which was massive then due to the influence of Courtney Love and other ladies in the grunge movement wearing vintage lingerie/slips as dresses. Usually worn with Doc Martens or chunky mary janes. One of my favorite 90's fast fashion labels is All That Jazz, and they made a lot of dresses similar to this one.

I'm curious to see what the experts think!

3. laurenm

laurenm Registered Guest

Yes, sorry no labels....the fabric really had an older feel/look to me but the lining has a modern look so your probably dead on!

4. bycinbyhand

bycinbyhand VFG Member

I really would need to see details better... seams, zipper, etc. It looks 90s, to me, without those details. Sorry!

5. To me, it looks like a '60s evening gown that has been altered: the skirt taken up, more shape added and a keyhole inserted into the bodice.

6. Rue_de_la_Paix

Rue_de_la_Paix VFG Member

Nicole might be correct in that it does look as if possibly altered. The skirt hem appears taken up. Even for the late 1960s, that is really really short. The zipper is quite long, which also makes me think this dress was originally longer in length.

7. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member