1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would you launder or dry clean this dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by onceoza, Oct 7, 2011.

1. onceoza

onceoza Registered Guest

Just wanted to update you all. I took the coat to the cleaners and the desk clerk said she couldn't guarantee how it would come out, how the buttons would end up, blah, blah, blah. I deal poker for a living so I've got the gambler blood running through me. I decided that since the dress came out so well and since the lining on the coat didn't have any tears, I would wash that too. I took saran wrap and covered all the buttons, turned it inside out, and threw it in the washer on gentle cycle. I even put it in the dryer for about 10 minutes on low heat and then hung it up to contine drying. It came out really nice! All the spots came out and it's a beautiful outfit. Now, I also took an 80's white silk Ellen Tracy suit in that didn't come out good at all. I guess that one will be given to goodwill.

2. poppysvintageclothing

poppysvintageclothing VFG Board Member Staff Member VFG Past President

Did you have the suit dry cleaned and it did not turn out well...maybe you should try washing that one too before it goes out!
    Happy to hear about your success on that fabulous lime green ensemble!

3. onceoza

onceoza Registered Guest

Are you talking about the Chanel denim suit? Haven't cleaned it yet, but it WON'T be going in the washer. I don't want to iron it anyway ';)

4. If worried about buttons I would just remove them. I have just bought a Lillie Anne suit, probably from the 60s, I paid a fair price for the suit so didnt want waist my investment. Not sure if it was wool or polly (its a knit), so I sent them both the dress and coat and the cleaners and they shrunk the lining! I mean really dont they have any idea how to treat vintage, it just needed freshening up!:flaming: