1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating Sonni California hat - 40s?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Linda B, Feb 7, 2016.

1. Linda B

Linda B Registered Guest

Photos below! I have no clue what era this hat is from - 30s? 40s? 50s? Could use some help!

Hat itself is velvet. Has netting that goes over the face which is beaded with VERY tiny beads towards the crown. Feathers are on the top and extend over the back of the hat.

Brand in label is SONNI CALIFORNIA.

Attached Files:

cmpollack and peaceful vintage like this.
  2. PersonalPursuits

PersonalPursuits VFG Member

I am not an expert in the field of hats but my first thought is it might be from the 1950's. There are some very knowledgeable members here and I am sure one of them will pop in to give you more reliable information you are seeking. It is beautiful!

3. Linda B

Linda B Registered Guest

Thank you so much! It's really a pretty hat - needs some serious love, but I was thinking 40s-50s, too.

4. jazzbug

jazzbug Alumni

oh, how darling it is! As far as I can tell from the photos, looks like early 1950s to me. Did you try looking up that label on our label resource tool? Seems rather obscure, but I always check as I have been surprised to find what I'm looking for at times.

peaceful vintage likes this.
  5. Linda B

Linda B Registered Guest

I did look it up, and didn't see Sonni, unfortunately. It looks like Sonni has been around for many decades, but had a resurgence in the 80s. I really don't THINK this is an 80s hat, but want to be sure. ;) Thank you!

6. PersonalPursuits

PersonalPursuits VFG Member

Here is some information about the company and yes, it is still in business.

Sonni Of California Inc
    Sonni Hats Of California
    1933 Peralta St
    Oakland, CA 94607 - View Map

Sonni Of California Inc