1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello I’m new to this forum and to furs!

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Chatter - Anything and everything' started by TreeNguyen, Dec 21, 2017.

1. TreeNguyen

TreeNguyen Registered Guest

I’m thrilled to find this wealth of information! My name is Teresa and I collect vintage and antique clothing, and I am a historical costumer. I recently bought these furs (very cheap) at an estate sale and I am repairing them so they can hopefully be worn without further damage.

During my research I read about muskrat and mink, but I am not experienced enough to tell the difference. I don’t care which fur they are, as I love them and think they’re gorgeous. I just want to learn. Can someone help?

The first one had a ruined lining so I removed it. I believe it to be 40s-50s because of the balloon sleeves and puffed shoulders. I plan to repair the tears in the fur and replace the lining.

The second one is in much better shape, the lining fully in tact, so it is probably more modern. I have already made the repairs to this one. It had seam separation at the shoulders and neck.

Any help and advice is much appreciated!

Thank you!

Photos resized by Admin.

1ebsOij.jpg
    iAHU1yI.jpg

lqXMVyK.jpg
    Q0VJWWM.jpg

BcwY5PW.jpg

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2017
  2. Linn

Linn Super Moderator Staff Member VFG Past President

Teresa,
    Welcome to the Forums!
    I'm sure Caryn, our fur expert will be along, but I think the first one is '30's - early '40s and is muskrat. The second one looks like mink and looks '50s to possibly early '60's to me. It's great that you have the skills to repair these yourself.

3. amandainvermont

amandainvermont VFG Member