1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sequin dress - sold as 80s vintage

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Betine Huflaten, Jan 4, 2021.

1. Betine Huflaten

Betine Huflaten Registered Guest

Hello everyone,

I recently bought a sequin dress at Etsy. It was listed as a 80s dress, made of silk. On closer inspection I thought the silhouette as well as the appearance of the sequins looked rather modern, but I am not an expert in the field. When I received the dress I found that the back label was ripped out and the washing label in the skirt was cut off. The dress looked brand new with a polyester lining. A beautiful dress, but something that could have been sold in ASOS, Zara or Topshop. I confronted the seller and she claims that the labels were already removed when she bought the dress on auction, as labels sometimes need to be removed to comply with shop returning policies. Is this really the case? (I am not familiar with the situation in U.K.)

I noticed that one customer did write in a review that the had noticed labels had been removed, so I find it hard to believe the seller did not do this deliberately...

What do you think? Is it something about this dress that says 80s, or did the seller simply rip me off? It sounds fishy, right?

Thank you for advice in advance.
    Best regards,
    Bety

Last edited: Jan 4, 2021
  2. Betine Huflaten

3. Betine Huflaten

4. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member

Shoulder pads, or thread remnants where they used to be? The 80s beaded silk dresses usually had honking big shoulder pads.

The Vintage Merchant likes this.
  5. Betine Huflaten

No shoulder pads nor remnants. I expected to find them as well, so I guess that is a red flag.

6. Racked Vintage

Racked Vintage Alumni VFG Past President

Open backs were huge in 1999/ early 2000s.

7. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member