1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Matty Talmack - the designer, and a dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Beth McKie, Nov 16, 2021.

1. Beth McKie

Beth McKie Registered Guest

Hello! It's my first time posting because I found a beautiful dress at a thrift store and can't find many comparable dresses with the Matty Talmack label without another designer's name attached. Is anyone familiar with her work?

The University of North Texas library website says of "Talmack": "Established 1949 by Matty and Herbert Talmack, in operation until at least 1970. Various designers worked for the House, including Dominic, John Moore, and Morty Sussman." John Moore is included in the VFG label resource.
    A press clipping on eBay contains a 1963 photo of Mrs. Matty Talmack, who "creates many styles on her own."

What I can deduce from the dress: The union label dates from 1963-1974; the collar label is from the Giralda Room at Swanson department store in Kansas City, Missouri. Materials feel luxe. No RN number.

Attached Files:

denisebrain likes this.
  2. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

Hello and welcome to the forums! Lovely dress - unfortunately I'm not familiar with this company/designer, but the dress looks earlier 60s to me style-wise. Can you please also post a photo of the department store label?

3. Beth McKie

Thank you! Here is the really cool department store label.

Attached Files:

nsweezie and Vintagiality like this.
  4. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

5. Ranch Queen Vintage

Ranch Queen Vintage Administrator

Hi @Beth McKie! Thanks for sharing your research about this label. I too, am unfamiliar with the brand/designer, but would be happy to add it to the Label Resource.

We are on the hunt for regional department store labels, and would welcome the addition of Swanson's to the Label Resource., as well.