1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. raincitytreasures

raincitytreasures Registered Guest

I'm thinking by the look of the flowers on the flap this is a deco bag. Howeer, the dangles have me a bit puzzled.

2. raincitytreasures

3. Shygarden

Shygarden Alumni

That's a really nice bag! (I'm no help with a date, though)

Diane

4. Laura

Laura Alumni

The style looks later to me, but I'm not a purse expert. There are other members who know a lot about bags, so they'll be able to help more! :)

Laura

5. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

It looks newer to me as well, those little dangly things on the handle are something I have never seen on a purse from the 20s. The beadwork style looks newer as well. I would guess 1960s.

6. Patentleathershoes

Patentleathershoes VFG Veteran VFG Past President

Hi Carolyn, nice to see you here again!

Chris

7. Laura

Laura Alumni

I was thinking 1960s, but I didn't want to date it without really being informed. It's nice to hear that my instinct was probably right.

Laura

8. raincitytreasures

It was suggested to me that it might be Arts and Crafts period (late teens and early 20s), since they use the dangles. The lotus flowers are definitely a late teens early 20s thinkg. I may check with a museum. Wish I could get on Antiques Roadshow.

9. Patentleathershoes

Its hard when you can't feel it , touch it in person. By being able to inspect the interior, etc, and the beading, it does make a difference. do you have a photo of the interior? that might be more clear that it is early and not a repro.

10. Patentleathershoes

i meant a later bag

11. raincitytreasures

The inside is not silk or taffeta (thought one can never tell-they do get relined). I'll try to get a decent pic and some closeups. I have a hard time doing interiors without showing my fingers.

12. Patentleathershoes