1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BIPOC historical dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Most Wanted - Looking for something?' started by Delaney, May 18, 2022.

1. Delaney

Delaney Registered Guest

Hello, new friends!

I have an odd need. I am a theatrical lighting designer and like to render my designs using human figures in period dress for whatever fits the show. I am trying to do what I can to help diversify my figures and would like some recommendations for BIPOC historians and/or reenactors who have full body images that I could include in my renderings.
    I have been looking through the historical costumers that I already follow, #reenactorsofcolor on instagram, and BIPOC Costumers on Facebook.

I am mainly finding difficulty with turn of the century (Meet me in St Luis and Newsies), 1500s, and medieval (which I know is broad)

I refuse to render every show with a monochrome cast and would love to have some input from those who specialize in Historical Fashion.

Attached is a rendering example from a recent show

Thank you all so much for even reading this!

Delaney

Attached Files:

2. denisebrain

denisebrain VFG Vice President Staff Member VFG Past President

3. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member

We also have a member, Petra Slinkard, who is the director of Curatorial Affairs at the Peabody Essex Museum. I have not been to the PEM, but had the pleasure of seeing the Making Mainbocher exhibit at the Chicago History Museum in 2019. Petra was the curator.

You might consider messaging her on Instagram

CatsLikeUs and denisebrain like this.
  4. pastperfect2

pastperfect2 Alumni +

First, kudos to you for trying to do this! It's very hard to find period sources for images of BIPOC in some eras.

This site has some good stuff:
    https://medievalpoc.tumblr.com/

poisson_rouge and denisebrain like this.
  5. Patentleathershoes

Patentleathershoes VFG Veteran VFG Past President