1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Care of clothing

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Judy Bussey, Apr 27, 2004.

1. Judy Bussey

Judy Bussey Registered Guest

I have purchased vintage clothing years 20's thru 50's. Some are less than perfect. How do I remove spots? Is there a special cleaning agent? Do some dry cleaners specialize in this? Any info would greatly be appreciated! I'm new at this and it's great fun!

Judy

2. Patentleathershoes

Patentleathershoes VFG Veteran VFG Past President

Hi Judy,
    As with modern garments, care depends a lot on the fabric content. Just like today, you would handle a fine silk differently than a denim.

The main thing that differs, however, from modern clothing, is that due to the passage of time, some vintage garments are more delicate than current items. Some garments can be cleaned with more modern methods, but err on the side of caution - try white vinegar instead of shout, etc., adn try handwashing if it is a washable garment first before even thinking about a washing machine. some dry cleaners will deal with vintage garments, but the ones that are really truly knowledgeable are few and far between. i have heard horror stories, but i have also have heard of items - 40s wool gabardine suits in one case come to mind (and again, they had no disintegrating lining, etc), that turned out fabulous. so be very very judicious.