1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating this pesant top?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Into the void, Aug 14, 2017.

1. Into the void

Into the void Registered Guest

It doesn't have any tags, but something tells me it isn't modern but I'm no expert. Anyways, Here are some pics. True color is closest to the batch on the mannequin a buttery yellow the sleeves have a delicate string that when you pull on it the sleeves tighten, the stitching is odd like nothing I've seen on a garment so maybe it was made using a different technique popular in other countries

Attached Files:

2. It looks like a kind of drawn thread work with embroidery. I agree that it looks early but hard to date: how are the seams sewn?

3. Into the void

Here are some more shots of some of the seam work and detail for some reason some of my pictures aren't showing up cuz it says they are too large for the detabase...

Attached Files:

4. Into the void

I have one more and it is refusing to upload of the side seam! Haha, still trying.. when you say early how early?

5. Yes, it does look like drawn thread work, plus I can now see smocking and are those seams hand stitched? It looks like a cotton cheesecloth. Well, what we in Australia call cheesecloth. I think it's called something else in the US. It was popular in the '70s but yours looks earlier. Hard to tell - if I could hold it I'd get a better idea. Maybe '30s? Maybe earlier? More photos please, especially of the seams (both sides).

How are the sleeves set in? Cut in one or raglan? Hard to see the shape and detailing, pity it's so crushed. Measurements might help too: bust, waist, shoulder width.

6. Into the void