1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help date vintage Hawaiian shirt

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by PhasesVintage, May 27, 2019.

1. PhasesVintage

PhasesVintage Registered Guest

Can anybody help me identify the era of this Hawaiian shirt? I’ve tried researching this label, but couldn’t find any information on it. Material does feel like cotton, maybe a blend. There isn’t a care label, which (along with buttons/material/style) leads me to believe it may be earlier than ‘70s?
    Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Linn

Linn Super Moderator Staff Member VFG Past President

I don't think the shirt is vintage. I'm not an expert on dating Hawaiian shirts but I do live in Hawaii and have three books on Vintage Aloha shirts (and attire). The label on your shirt is not in any of the books. That doesn't mean that it isn't vintage but I don't think it is. The style of the font and that the brand was TM'd looks new(er) to me - not older.

I didn't find anything, either, when I searched for Nohea aloha shirts. Have you checked the side seams or the bottom of the shirt to see if there is care information - or an indication that a label might have been removed? As I'm sure you know, shirts are being made in Hawaii now in cotton and cotton blends in patterns that replicate the older patterns, and some of them have coconut buttons. I bought this shirt new last year for my (baby) nephew. It has coconut buttons. (It's a child's XS.)

[​IMG]

I bought a bigger shirt in a different reproduced pattern for his older cousin. It has coconut buttons, too. It's a boy's size 10.

[​IMG]

Let's see what other's think.

3. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member