1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help With Dating Vintage Wedding Dress

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by RamosVintage, Jun 20, 2021.

1. RamosVintage

RamosVintage Registered Guest

Hi! I’m new here! I’m looking to date a vintage dress. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I’m not sure I even put it together right. It was in three pieces.

Attached Files:

2. Linn

Linn Super Moderator Staff Member VFG Past President

Welcome to the VFG. I am not an expert on this era, but I think your dress is Edwardian (C.1900 - 1910.) I think it's an afternoon summer dress, not a vintage wedding dress. Let's see what others think about the way you have it displayed. I think photo #7 that shows the yellow embroidery is the front and I'm not sure if the collar was meant to be detachable but I think it would fasten in the back when worn.

3. RamosVintage

thank you so much for your reply! So just to clarify you think the photo number 7 should be the very top of the three pieces? Is it possible these pieces don’t all go together? Thanks again!!

4. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member

when i first looked at your photos, it seemed to me that you have more than a single vintage garment there.

I would suggest photographing each garment individually, without the layering. then maybe it will become clearer what you have. :)

5. carla rey

carla rey VFG Member

Yes, I think that's 2 different dresses.

6. Linn

Looking at all the photos again I agree that you have two different dresses. I agree that you should take a photo of each piece separately.

7. RamosVintage

Thank you everyone. I really appreciate the feedback as I’m still learning. Here are more photos, all of the pieces separated (3) and some up close photos of the fabric. I need help labeling them and also with pricing if anyone is willing.

Attached Files: