1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Irene Suit-40's? Plus Fabric ID

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by bluevelvetvintage, Sep 22, 2004.

1. bluevelvetvintage

bluevelvetvintage VFG Member

Irene Suit-40\'s? Plus Fabric ID

Want to try and get this suit listed before the end of the month. Can anyone confirm for me whether this is late 40's or not?

Plus need opinion on fabric. It has vertical and horizontal slubs. Lining is silk, so can I safely assume suit is also? There's nowhere that I can cut a piece to do a burn test.

Thanks
    Theresa

Blue Velvet Vintage

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. alonesolo

alonesolo Guest

Looks like it could be rayon in a linen like weave.

Very pretty Looks late 40's early 50's to me

3. kevinjohnnyc

kevinjohnnyc Registered Guest

I'm far from an expert, but Peter pan collar and 3/4 sleeve looks late forties/early fifties to me. I think that linen-weave rayon is correct too...

It's a lovely number. I love the self-fabric covered buttons with the fancy button at top. Great fitted silhouette. Nice!

4. pastperfect2

pastperfect2 Alumni +

An Irene! those usually do well. The fabric could be silk - does it have a sort of crunchy feel?

Hollis

5. bartondoll

bartondoll Guest

It could be burlap and with an Irene label it would still do well for you.

I'm also going to say late 40s/early 50s.

Unfortunately, I can't tell if the fabric is silk or a linen/rayon woven.

Dynamite suit! Lucky you!

Sue

6. bluevelvetvintage

Thanks everyone! At least now I know I was close on the date. As far as the fabric, I'll just have to cover my a@@ by saying it could be either silk or a linen/rayon weave. Don't want to mislead anyone.

Now I'm off to attempt to write some kind of half decent description!

Theresa

7. artisannes

artisannes VFG Member VFG Past President

I think it is very likely a silk - she used the best fabrics .