1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help identifying a hat!

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by HauntedMoonlight, Oct 3, 2021.

1. HauntedMoonlight

HauntedMoonlight Registered Guest

Hey guys, I need help identifying a hat that I bought at an antique store several years back. It was a favorite that I’ve unfortunately lost and I was hoping to try and replace/remake it, but I’m not really an expert when it comes to clothing items. I probably don’t have the best pics to help with this but lemme see what I got-

Attached Files:

2. Avantbo

Avantbo Registered Guest

Hi,

I had a look at your hat and while I understand it was a favorite of yours, I don't think it would be that difficult to replace almost like for like, including the feathers.

I dare say several of the the hat sellers on these forums may have something like it or can advise where best to go to find similar, you're in luck I think, ( apart from the loss ), it's not an impossible ask or do.
    Good luck.

3. HauntedMoonlight

HauntedMoonlight Registered Guest

I-yes??? And that’s pretty much what I’m trying to do. The problem is, I’m not entirely sure what kind of hat it is, so I’m not really sure what to shop for beyond ‘black hat’.

4. Avantbo

Avantbo Registered Guest

Well beyond that, try Pork Pie Hat with large brim, Wool Felt Sun Hat, or Bolero or Fedora--maybe, shall I keep it going or do you think you can Google other then typing in Black Hat?

Feathers, decimate any boa you find or some Ostridge feathers and a sewing needle.

5. MagsRags

MagsRags VFG President Staff Member

My first thought was fedora, although the brim on yours looks a bit wider. I like Avantbo's "porkpie" thought as well.

The VFG happens(!) to have a very good Hat Resource, accessible through the main vfg.org webpage, or follow the link.

denisebrain likes this.
  6. Rue_de_la_Paix