1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reproducing vintage fabric

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by shesabettie, Jan 22, 2010.

1. shesabettie

shesabettie Registered Guest

Hello all :)

I have a friend who has a couple of vintage 1950's cotton dresses with
    fantastic "Paris" inspired sketch-like designs on the fabric. They
    belonged to his grandmother and he wants to "reprint" the fabric
    before selling them to me. I thought you might be able to recommend
    some good leads for this type of thing. Any suggestions?

I asked Jonathan Walford for his advice and he suggested I contact the
    VFG public forum. This is my first time posting so please let me know if I am doing this incorrectly.

Thanks so much!
    Jenn:cats:

2. joules

joules VFG Member

3. Shygarden

Shygarden Alumni

I just discovered spoonflower.com while surfing the other day. All you need is a digital image of the fabric print you want.

4. shesabettie

Thank y'all so much ... I'll check it out!

xoxo

5. Laura

Laura Alumni

WOW - that site is awesome!

6. dorotheascloset

dorotheascloset Registered Guest

Hi Jenn! I would try spoonflower too...I'm addicted to it!

Ang

7. thespectrum

thespectrum VFG Member Staff Member

8. Midge

Midge Super Moderator Staff Member

9. shesabettie

Hey Ang :) This sounds like it's the go-to-place for reproducing a one-of-a-kind print. Do they guide you in how to scan your fabric so the repro-printed fabric is top quality?

10. Leisa

Leisa VFG Member

Okay - I just "spent" about $2000.00 there... :o

Thanks so much for posting that link.
    I intend to create some retro / repro vintage as the year goes on.
    What a perfect solution for finding fabrics!

11. lkranieri

lkranieri VFG Member

DITTO! Thanks for that fun link.

12. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member

13. vertugarde

vertugarde Alumni