1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vintage Dior dress - 1950s?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Panopticon, May 10, 2018.

1. Panopticon

Panopticon Registered Guest

Hello there,

This is my first time posting to this forum, though I have been lurking for some time. I’m hoping someone here might be able to advise me.

Earlier this year, I purchased what I believe to be an early-mid 1950s Dior cocktail dress, from a vintage boutique in Toronto, Canada. Please see the photos I’ve uploaded.

As you can see from the photos, it is not a haute couture piece, but was made in England by the London branch of Dior (which I understand opened in 1952).

The boutique described the dress, on the sales tag, as follows: “Christian Dior (1953?) black silk taffeta, tulip skirt with bustle, dress”. It has an overskirt with a large bow in back, and a boned interior corselet. It is fully lined. The main seams are sewn by machine, but there is also a great deal of hand-finishing inside the dress. There is a long back metal zipper, marked ‘Lightning’.

There are some issues with condition: the fabric around the underarm seams has begun to shred (see photos). The sleeve is unusual and is constructed with a triangular gusset - the fabric at the triangle points is what’s degrading. Also, the hem was loose when I bought the dress, but I have since repaired that. The hem contains three button–shaped weights (sewn at the side and back seams) as well as bias strips of black linen.

The dress has three labels:
    • A large one at back (to the left of the zipper) reading "Christian Dior London Ltd – UK Reg’d – Modele Original – Made in England”, and stamped with a serial number: 28917.
    • Another at the back left of the corselet, identical to the first but with a different serial number: 33266.