1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Women's or men's shirt?

Discussion in 'PUBLIC Vintage Fashion - Ask Questions Get Answers' started by Katarzyna, Jul 11, 2021.

1. Katarzyna

Katarzyna Registered Guest

Hiii!

Please help me determine is it a women's shirt or men's?

The size on the tag says 42 (might be women's 42 and it's just big, or maybe it's italian men's 42??)

The sleeves are quite long, and the cuffs are wide, that got me thinking, it might not be women's. But it is profiled in the waist.

Also, do you think it's more contemporary? I have no experience with MCM clothing :/

Thank you so much.

Attached Files:

The Vintage Merchant likes this.
  2. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member

MCM's website about page is here.

i remember the name from some great surfwear we got there back in the mid 90s, it looks like they've gone more into bags and shoes than they originally started out. maybe they're under new ownership, i didn't take the time to look in to that aspect of the company.

love this shirt. oh, and to differentiate between men's and women's shirts, article from The Smithsonian.
    eta: so this is a women's shirt.

Katarzyna likes this.
  3. Katarzyna

Katarzyna Registered Guest

omg! you're right! I forgot about the buttons, the left and right side. thank you!

The Vintage Merchant likes this.
  4. Jonathan

Jonathan VFG Member

The easy way to remember it is 'Men are ALWAYS right' -- I don't know why women have such a hard time remembering that...

Seriously though, it is well known in the fashion industry that you can make pink shirts with frilly collars for men as long as you have the buttons on the right side. Men will not buy a shirt or coat or jacket that buttons on the left.

5. The Vintage Merchant

The Vintage Merchant Administrator Staff Member